My Dog’s Purpose

I started reading the book, “A Dog’s Purpose”. I haven’t read a dog novel for a long time. I always end up in tears and Robinson tells me I shouldn’t read them anymore. I likely won’t read a dog book again for a really long time.

As much as I hate how the book makes me sad, I am happy that it is making me reflect. Oscar’s 12 years with us has had many purposes. Here are ten:

1.) He brings me balance.

2.) He makes me happy.

3.) He brings me home, which – for a seeker like me – is essential.

4.) He helped Robinson and me define what a family could look like for us.

5.) He’s makes me less afraid.

6.) He makes me stop and smell the roses.

7.) He makes me stop and talk to strangers

8.) He makes me more curious.

9.) He helps me make excuses and say no to obligations I don’t want to take on, as in, “Gee, I would love to, but I have to go home and let Oscar out.”

10.) He makes me feel like the most important person in the entire world. And I know I am, to him.

Leave a Reply

