Oh man. The memories.

I don’t know if you can see it in this photo, but right about where the sign is on the left of the photo is a small landing in the steps. So what, right?

IMG_0619

Right.

Right, in some ways, but that’s the magic of photos. We never really know the depth behind them.

That small landing in the steps in this photo is magical to me. This is a walk I used to take almost daily with Oscar. We’d walk through the streets in our Chapinero Alto neighborhood until we hit the park with the little stream, walk up the Andes following the stream, stop and take in the breathtaking scenery of the Andes looking over the city of Bogota, continue to another park… and another park, and then continue on our way home.

IMG_0616

I was able to walk this walk today, almost two years since we left Bogota and all these memories came flooding back to me. They are my most powerful memories of Bogota and whenever I’m able to revisit this city, I will do this walk. It’s a time I experienced immense peace within a period of personal doubt and uncertainty and it’s a moment I experienced with my little buddy.

That little landing in the stairs is where Oscar, walking without a leash, would stop and wait for me. It’s where I’d put his leash back on and we’d continue on our journey, navigating Bogota traffic and my personal demons until we found our way back home.

Almost two years later, I’m still finding my way, but with more peace and perspective and with my two loves by my side – my Big Guy and my Little Guy.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

