Getting Older

As Oscar gets older, I dread his annual vet visit. I knew that Oscar was starting to show signs of cataracts and I randomly met a woman who was telling me about her Boston Terrier who is now 14 (Oscar is 11). She said her Boston is now completely blind because at the time she wasn’t in a place where she could afford eye surgery for him. She told me that if she was to do it over, she would’ve had at least one of his eyes fixed. I was prepared to make that choice myself last week when I brought Oscar in for this annual check up. The good news is, I didn’t have too!

Glad those eyes still work!

Glad those eyes still work!

Oscar got a clean bill of health. The vet said his weight, heart, blood work and stool sample (see my post from Tuesday) were all healthy. She said that although he’s showing signs of developing cataracts, they are not fully formed and there was no reason to think about surgery at this time.

Owning an pet who is getting older is a vulnerable feeling. I wish I could keep Oscar young and healthy forever, but if I can’t, at least I can stop to love and appreciate him everyday.

Leave a Reply

