How Did This Happen?

How did this happen? My little guy is 11 years old today. Full birthday celebrations will commence this weekend, but I really can’t believe it.

Oscar. The best gift I could ever ask for.

Oscar. The best gift I could ever ask for.

I am so happy and grateful for every year… every day… I’ve had with him, but I can’t believe 11 years have gone by. I know that even if I get 18 to 21 years, which I regularly ask him for, it won’t be enough.

When we were living in Colombia, people would ask me how old he was. I would say 7, 8, 9, 10 years (siete años, etc.) and they would try to correct me, replacing “años,” with “meses”, or years for months, because Oscar comes across as such a puppy still. I would tell them, “No, years…” and then their facial expressions would change and convey sympathy that I had an “old” dog. I have to admit this has caused me to start lying about his age. It’s funny, I don’t lie about my own age, but I do about Oscar’s. I don’t want anyone looking at him with sympathy, but more so, I don’t want to come to grips with the inevitable. That I will likely outlive my best friend.

A good friend of mine lost her beloved Evan last Friday. My heart breaks for her and until that day comes, I am determined to make the most of every day I have with my little guy, my best friend.

Leave a Reply

