Going “Hunting”

Oscar snuggled me all night last night. Usually he’ll start off the night snuggling, almost spooning, then move to the top of the covers by Robinson’s or my feet for most of the night, then come back to snuggle close in the morning.

Last night he snuggled close all night long. Maybe he know’s I’m leaving today. Dog’s have that sixth sense.

I’m traveling almost once a week, but usually for no longer than a couple nights and when I’m not traveling, I get to work from home, which gives us a lot of quality time together. I used to hate going to work every morning, leaving the house, to see him go out on our porch to watch me get in the car. When I’d come home from work, he’d still be there, looking. It’s so nice to be able to spend more time with him.

IMG_5372

Oscar “showing” me his disdain when I travel by leaving poop by my side of the bed.

When I travel a lot, Oscar tends to get mad and poop on my side of the bed, sometimes near the bed, sometimes actually on it. A couple of years ago, I started to bring home treats for him and put them in my suitcase. It was my way of trying to convince him that the reason I left was that I had to go “hunting” for him. I’d come home and he would rifle through my suitcase until he found his treat. When I started doing this, he quit pooping on my side of the bed. You can bet I’ll be bringing home a treat for him this Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

